Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Maybe the sprain was what I needed?

1 Comment

Strange as it seems, I’ve had some fantastic runs since I sprained my ankle. I’d been getting pretty frustrated with my runs before the terrible 5K race on Aug. 21. Then I sprained my ankle and was thus forced away from running for the week. I ran again 8 days later and aside from that one being a little tough after a week off, all my runs since then have been great. So maybe I just needed the week off the regroup a bit, though I could have done fine without the ankle injury!

On the ankle, a friend suggested to me to use duct tape to combat the blister I got while wearing my ankle brace running. I tried it this morning and while I did feel the old blister, it wasn’t irritated and there were no signs of a new blister! I just need to figure out how to wrap the duct tape and not feel like I’m cutting my foot off. It felt really tight at first but then got better. My run was only 3.5 miles though, so I don’t know how it will feel with something longer.

I got up at 4:40 this morning for my second pre-dawn run. Today though it was cold! I ran in a long sleeved shirt for the first time in a long time. The thing about running when its cool is I’ll wear the long sleeve shirt and still be cold when I’m starting out, but before long I’m sweating and wishing I didn’t have long sleeves on. I guess its a necessary evil though.

I powered through a somewhat hilly run on Monday. I try to avoid hills but I like this route a lot and I also decided it was time to practice with some hills. I considered that run a success because I only had to walk a small portion of a pretty continuous up hill. Going up the other hills I felt strong.

Then this morning on my definitely less hilly neighborhood loop, I felt strong again on the few slight up hills along the way. I felt more comfortable with my run, so much so that I barely looked at my watch. I don’t take my music along in the morning anymore and I will usually start looking at the watch and not stop. But today I just felt good and I was familiar enough with the distance of the route that I just didn’t need to.

Going into the 8K race this weekend, I feel a lot more confident than I did before the 5K. I think my confidence before the race really plays into how I end up running the race. I don’t really know whats different now from three weeks ago. Maybe its just in the quality of my runs. Either way, I’ll enjoy my rest day tomorrow, cross training day on Friday and then tackle that 8K on Saturday with hopefully better results than my last race!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Maybe the sprain was what I needed?

  1. Good luck at your race this weekend! I think the cooler weather has definitely helped with my runs.

Leave a Reply

