Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Sore knees

Leave a comment

I went to the doctor on Tuesday for my yearly physical and asked about my knee. It still hurts from when I fell and sprained my ankle and skinned the knee, along with my elbows and palms.

The doctor said it is possible that it is a deep bone bruise, which can take a really long time to heal. Or it could be a mechanics issue that I should continue going to physical therapy for. I don’t remember the technical name for it. Its possible the knee cap isn’t tracking right, which apparently is common in female runners because our hips are wider than our knees. The knee cap is supposed to move up and down, but it moves more diagonal and causes irritation. This may or may not be related to my fall.

Fantastic. I’m starting to think it is this mechanics thing. It doesn’t hurt while running, but it hurts more right after a run. The bruise could just get more irritated from the run. My gut says its more than that. So I need to decide if I want to do physical therapy, yet again, or tough it out. Or I could wait a month and see if this goes away, and then decide. I’m hoping getting some new shoes this weekend will make it all go away.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

