Life as we know it

Our family adventures

New shoes = Good

Leave a comment

I ran today for the first time since last Tuesday. I ran 4.25 miles in my new shoes and wished I had time to go all the way to 5. My new shoes are great. And the hip soreness thats been plaguing me since we got Allie’s baby gate two weeks ago, and the reason I didn’t run for six days, is currently nonexistant.

One more pleasant effect of the new shoes is that my knee pain is a lot better.

This was a great run, and a perfect day. I got up at 6:30 with Allie. Yes, I did grumble about getting up at 6:30, but it was fun to play together. I read her a few books. When Doug got up we had banana pancakes and then I went out to run. Today was a perfect Indian summer day. It warm but not too hot. The sun was shining and the trees were so pretty in their orange and red glory. I’d love it if we could keep this weather for awhile longer.

I felt great during the run. I don’t remember my exact times, but I ran somewhere around 13:25 first mile and 13 for the next two and then the fourth was something like 12:15! It makes me think that cutback doesn’t work as well for me as just taking the week off. Obviously I’m not going to do that, but maybe when I cut back I’ll run two days instead of three.

But what I’m most pleased about is that I have managed to get the same kind of running shoes twice. Maybe this will become a trend and the next time I need new shoes, I won’t have to spend an hour getting fitted. As the title says, new shoes = good. Thats my kind of math.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

