Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Marathon envy

Leave a comment

So many of my friends have run their fall marathons and half marathons in the last few weeks. I’ll just put this out there: I’m jealous!

I know it was the right thing for me to put off a half marathon this year. Could I have trained over the summer and run a half somewhere this fall? Maybe. But maybe I would have gotten hurt again from doing too much too soon.

The CIM relay is the perfect training distance for me right now. I’ll get up to an 8-mile long run before I run my 7-mile leg of the relay. Thats half of a half marathon and then in the rest of the winter I can maintain or perhaps increase my mileage a bit and be in great shape to proceed with my spring half marathon plans.

Even though I am in training right now, for the Berbee Derby 10K and for the CIM relay, I feel like I’m missing out. If we weren’t headed into winter, I could keep training and do a half sooner rather than later.

But I’ll be relegated to the treadmill at some point soon (probably sooner because I’m not a big fan of running outside when its both dark AND cold!), and I’m not going to do the kind of mileage I need for a half on a treadmill. And besides, its too late to change my plans. There are some things I just can’t control. So I guess all I can do is just keep getting more miles under my belt.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

