Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Finally making it to 7… hopefully

Leave a comment

It seems like lately there’s been one ting or another keeping me from reaching my mileage goal. I surprised myself when I made it to 6 miles in mid-September. The plan was to get my long run to 6 by the end of September and 7 by the end of October. But I was doing so well that it looked like I’d get there sooner.

But I had some hip pain that concerned me, so I took an extra cutback week. For one reason or another I didn’t run my 7-miler, until tomorrow, hopefully!

I’ve had some achilles tendonitis this week. I don’t know if I’d call it a flare up. The last time I had it was 2 years ago. It irked me a little to have it because I haven’t been doing any of the stuff that triggers overuse injury. But I was glad that if I was going to have another injury, its something I’ve had before. I started stretching and icing daily, switched my Wednesday run to Friday, and it seems under control! I ran 5 miles on the treadmill Friday and felt fine, though I need to take my ice pack to work because my achilles got sore after.

Thats another issue of late. Its getting darker and colder in the morning. Well I suppose it can’t get darker than the pitch black I’ve been running in for awhile now. Though it is darker in that the sun is still not coming up when I get done! But I digress… its colder in the mornings too. While my asthma is gone and I probably could run in colder temps than I used to, I’m not going to do it in the dark. 35 degrees in the sun is easier to take than 35 degrees in the dark. And Friday at 5 a.m. it was 29. So I’m probably on the treadmill for early morning runs from here on out. I can probably continue doing my long runs on the weekends outside.

I’m hoping I won’t be on the treadmill for my 7 tomorrow! Its supposed to rain off and on all weekend. My longest run on a treadmill was 9 miles. I’m hoping to avoid that!

Making it to 7 miles is a big deal to me because thats my leg of the CIM relay. I’ll hopefully get up to 8 miles or, heck, maybe even 9 before the relay. If I can make my long run longer than my race distance I know I can run it in the race.

I’ll post here hopefully with an update tomorrow!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

