Life as we know it

Our family adventures

In transition

Leave a comment

Running through this year has been a series of stops and starts and October was no different. I had a mileage PR in September with 51.5 miles. October was better mileage than I used to run with 40.9. Its still good but not as much as I would have liked.

I had a week at the beginning of the month when I was afraid I was hurt and then last week I was just too busy. I’m also having a hard time because I’m transitioning to the treadmill. I don’t have proper cold weather running gear and even if I did, I won’t run in the dark when its cold. I can do the dark or the cold, but not both at the same time. So its the treadmill for me. I will still try to run outside on the weekends when the sun is up, though I didn’t the last two weekends because I didn’t run at all this past weekend and it was raining the week before.

So I’m in transition. My problem with the treadmill is that I’m setting it too fast. It also seems like each treadmill is a little different and some are harder to run on than others. I found a better one last Friday though, so hopefully whenever I get to the gym next I can get back into my groove.

Our house is sick. Allie has had a cold for the last week and a half or so. I’ve always thought when Allie got sick, Doug would but I wouldn’t. I never used to get sick even in college when everyone in the dorms was sick. But apparently the immune system that withstood dorm sickness is nothing against germs an infant brings in. Doug and I have both caught the cold, though Doug is worse than I am. So I’m not sure what the week holds for me workout-wise. I had planned to go to spin class this morning, but since I wasn’t feeling the greatest I decided to sleep in. I feel OK, though not great, but I’m staying home with Allie tomorrow. I hope I get a run in.

I’m not freaking out about the training as much as I might have a few months ago. I think I’ve finally figured out that I’m running well enough and its more important to be healthy than to log a bunch of miles. I really hope to make it to 7 miles before the CIM relay, but I’m confident that even if I don’t make it to 7, I will make it that far during the race.

This blog post is a combination of all the things I’d meant to write about over the last week. I haven’t been a good poster in this blog. I restarted this blog because I was writing so much about running in the other blog, but then I only had 8 posts in October! I suppose like running I just need to take it in stride.

My last snippet is that I’ve registered for my two remaining races before CIM. I’m running the Girls on the Run 5K on Nov. 13 and the Berbee Derby 10K on Nov. 25. I hope those races aren’t too cold! I’ve never raced, or run outside for that matter, outdoors after October!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

