Life as we know it

Our family adventures

A race like no other

Leave a comment

The only running book I’ve read is “A Race Like No Other: 26.2 Miles Through the Streets of New York.” I loved it. I got it out and read it a second time during our vacation in August. I couldn’t put it down. This book inspired me to train to run a full marathon. Unfortunately, right after I read it was when I had my stress fracture. I still want to run a full though, of course. The book chronicles the 2007 New York City Marathon. And I do ultimately want to run the New York City Marathon.

The 2010 New York Marathon is today and I ran my own personal marathon. So far the 7-mile long run has been elusive to me. But today I did it! Instead of saying hopefully I will run 7 miles today, I said I WILL run 7 miles today! I felt really good heading out. In fact, within the first half mile my legs were thanking me for getting off the treadmill. I ran along Lake Monona on a portion of the 20K route.

I took some walk breaks and felt great up to about the 5.5 mark. It made sense to me because I was getting toward the max I’d run thus far. My outlook was so different though from other long runs because I was glad I’d managed to get to 5.5! The treadmill has been so hard on me and I can’t remember the last time I got over 3.5. So instead of being frustrated, I just decided to take my extra walk break. With half a mile left I vowed to run the rest and even though it was very slow, I did it!

I even used the marathon as some inspiration to get to the end and I think it helped.

With four weeks to go until CIM, I am feeling better about my run. I now know I can run 7 miles. I knew I could before but it was a little disconcerting to try so many times and not get it. Next weekend I have my 5K race, the weekend after that I’ll go for 8, then the next week will be my 10K, and then it will be race day!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

