Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Limping to the finish?

Leave a comment

No, I’m not limping yet, but starting to feel like I’m heading down that path. All thanks to the treadmill. Treadmills are supposed to be more forgiving than the road, yet my shin splints are back with a vengeance. I do not feel a thing in my shins when I’m running outside. For the GOTR 5K on Saturday my legs felt completely normal. Then I got on the treadmill Tuesday and could barely eek out 2.5 miles.

At least I’m not freaking out about it. But I’m not sure how to proceed for the next three weeks, let alone how to train this winter?

My plans to conclude training were to run an 8-mile long run this weekend and then the Berbee Derby 10K on Thanksgiving. I was trying to have a short run and a medium run on the treadmill during the week, but I’ve had no success getting over 3.5 miles. I have run 7 once, but wanted to reach at least 7 again, and would rather get to 8. But I think I’ll skip the long run this weekend in favor of resting or at least going shorter.

I obviously don’t want to be injured for CIM, but my lone 7-mile run was a month before the race! I cross trained this morning and I might try to run tomorrow. I’m even considering bundling up to try that run outside. Wish me luck!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

