Life as we know it

Our family adventures

2010 in review

Leave a comment

A few days late, I know.

At this time last year I had grand plans to run two half marathons. I had even dreamed of a full. Ha! That just seems funny to me now. While I didn’t achieve my initial goals, I still accomplished a lot last year.

Maybe my biggest accomplishment is learning to run well. And by run well, I not only mean without walk breaks, but also listening to my body and taking the rest time when I needed it. So maybe my mileage didn’t end where I hoped it would, but I also didn’t get hurt again!

My big race was the California International Marathon Relay. It was amazing! I achieved my training goal and ran a great race. It was the perfect bridge to a half marathon in 2011. And it was an amazing time meeting online friends in real life. I hope to do that a lot in the future.

I’ve also learned that I can run in the cold, though not extreme. When my shins started bothering me on the treadmill before the relay, I went back outside when it was 30. It wasn’t as terrible as I thought it would be. Right now I’m watching the weather forecast for any time the morning temp might be 30. Those days are few and far between, but when I get one, I’ll be outside!

So the numbers:
I ended 2010 with 355.3 miles run. In November I thought I was on pace for 400, but my shins had other plans. I didn’t let it bother me, which as I wrote above was my biggest accomplishment!

My longest run was 7 miles.

I ran 7 races: 4 5Ks, 1 8K, 1 10K and the 7-mile leg of the relay. I ran some bad races but also some very good ones. I didn’t set all-time PRs, but I improved and set recent PRs.

So what’s next?

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

