Life as we know it

Our family adventures

New year, new goals

1 Comment

Well really they’re not so new and I’m a few days late. Such is life.

My running goals are pretty simple. I want to run 600 miles and I want to run a half marathon. Ideally, I want that half marathon to be in May, but I’m open to waiting until September.

I started the new year right with 2.5 miles New Years Day on the treadmill. I wanted to run the New Years Day Dash, but it was way too cold for me and Allie was sick. I can run in colder temps than I used to, but my limit so far is around 30. The temp last Saturday was 13 with a wind chill of -7!

This year I joined a club on the Runners World forms (RWOL) called 2011 in 2011. We set our own mileage goals and then are assigned to teams. We post our mileage for the week and the teams compete. It should be a fun way to stick to my goals.

But I haven’t run since Saturday. My shin splints are back. Its the treadmill but unfortunately I can’t do anything about that since I’m a wimp! However, I’m finally doing something about the shins. I had recommended to me a PT routine shared on the RWOL forum. So I’ve been doing that this week and I’ll continue, hopefully for awhile. Then maybe I can get rid of these darn shin splints!

The shins are feeling a better and even a little stronger already. I might try running this weekend to see how they feel. I may start out the year behind on my goal, but I know I’ll make up for it.

I’m feeling really positive about running this year. I can’t wait to see where my running takes me!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “New year, new goals

  1. Boo on shin splints. I hope you have a great running year! If it makes you feel any better, I've pretty much been on the treadmill exclusively for the last little while. Even without asthma, it's not much fun to run when it's in the single digits and colder with the windchill.

Leave a Reply

