Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Working toward a new me

1 Comment

At least my hair looks good here. Thats about the only thing that looks good.
Three years ago I lost 55 pounds. My low weight was 164. Then I had my stress fracture and gained a few. Then I got pregnant and gave birth and gained 65 more. Pre-pregnancy I weighed 175 and just before giving birth I weighed 240. I remember after giving birth saying I’d wait two weeks before I tried on my pre-pregnancy jeans. I just thought I’d go right back to my old size! Ha!
Over a year later I’m still toting 42 of the 65 pounds I gained. I thought I could diet and exercise like I did before and lose the weight. But it didn’t work. My life is so different than it was three years ago. I can’t keep track of the carbs like I used to. I can’t even remember carb values like I used to. And the exercise doesn’t help because what we eat is so out of control.
When I lost weight before, people would say I was skinny and I’d say I wasn’t. Now looking at pictures from that time, I realize I was.
It was before Thanksgiving when I admitted to myself that while I used to know what to do to lose weight, I no longer know. I need someone or something to tell me. One thing that really helped me when I lost weight before was accountability. I saw a nutritionist for close to two years. And that monthly weigh-in kept me honest.
So Doug and I joined Weight Watchers online Thursday. This is my before picture. My starting weight is 217, yuck. Hopefully in a few months I’ll post a much better picture!
We’ve been following it for two days and I have to admit, it doesn’t feel much like a diet. I’m tracking my food on the web site. I have 32 points per day, which seems pretty high to me. Whats a little more strange is that you get 49 “bonus points” per week to be used for extra treats or overflow. I used one extra yesterday but 15 today. Whoops!
When you exercise, you get more points. I haven’t been able to take advantage of that yet since I’ve had this cold.
It seems like a lot, but I do notice the different choices that I’m making now. Its the new points plus program, where most fruits and vegetables are 0. So Doug and I have both been eating more fruit. We got a box of the California Clementine “Cuties” and munch on those. Yesterday when there were treats in the office, I didn’t eat them. So often when we’re around the house we snack. That didn’t happen today other than the cuties. I planned our meals for this week in more detail than I usually do.
When Doug and I talked about joining Weight Watchers, I wanted to do the live version for the accountability. But it just worked out better with our schedules (not to mention its cheaper) to do the online version. Since Doug and I are both on board with it, we are each other’s accountability.
The ideal weight range for my height is 113-141. I’d be happy if I just got to 175 or, heck, a number that doesn’t start with a 2. But my first goal is, hopefully, an easy one. Its 5% of my starting weight, which is 11 pounds. After that I’ll work to 10 and so on. Who knows? Maybe I can get into that ideal range.

Here’s Doug’s before picture. He has it easier than I do. He gets 51 points!
It doesn’t make sense to me, but I’ll do it and see what happens. Hopefully in a couple weeks I’ll be losing the weight!
Starting now I’m changing the focus of this blog. It’ll still be about my running, but also about my quest to get healthy. I’ll post updates here as I go through the program and other health-related things.
Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Working toward a new me

  1. I am so proud of you! I did WW a few years ago and lost 17 lbs. It's a really great program and the best part is you can still eat the foods you are used to, but you have to watch portion sizes and stay conscious of what you eat! I can't wait to follow your progress. 🙂 I'm doing a "20 lbs in 20 weeks" challenge with a few friends of mine. We'll lose this weight together!

Leave a Reply

