Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Gaining strength

Leave a comment

One of my goals this year is to actually do my strengthening exercises that my chiropractor gave me for my back. This was a late addition to my list. But I’m happy to say I’ve been achieving that goal and seeing results!

I have an SI joint disfuntion that I’m pretty sure came on as an affect of pregnancy. Looking it pictures of myself, I can see why. I was huge! The disfunction came on last January when I went back to work. But I didn’t start seeing the chiropractor until May because I didn’t realize the awesome coverage I have on my state health insurance.

Anyway, I’ve been going since last May with results, though the pain still nags. Well, nagged. Its not gone, but its finally improving again. I had my initial improvement and then it didn’t seem to change much. I’ve been told that sometimes full correction isn’t always possible and that could be the case since I waited so long to see the chiropractor.

I’ve never been good with doing exercises. PT has usually been a waste of time for me because I would never do my exercises on my own, except for when I had achilles tendonitis. I was good about that PT because I was training for my half marathon! Well, since I’ve had shin splints and have been doing the exercises for those, I have finally started doing the exercises I’ve been given for my back regularly. And, surprise, they’re working!

In addition to my back, the exercises are also for core/trunk stability. And now that I’ve been doing the exercises pretty consistently for almost three weeks, I’m adding more reps and different exercises. I’m actually doing crunches the correct way!

When I lived in Carbondale, I worked out at the SIU student rec center and took a lot of classes there. One was called “Rock Bottom” and focused on abs, glutes and thighs. That was the last time I really had decent core strength. And I’ve realized ever since how hard it is to get that back once its gone. Hopefully I can keep doing these exercises and getting stronger and make that SI joint heal and all the other good things that come with core strength. Maybe soon I won’t be such a wimp!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

