Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Diet challenge #2: Birthday dinner

Leave a comment

Yesterday was Doug’s birthday. Since it was just any regular Monday, I wanted to make a special birthday meal. For Doug, this special meal is pot roast. He would eat pot roast every day if he could. Alas, pot roast is expensive and saved for special occasions.

I had two pictures I was going to post, but I’m not a food blogger, nor am I a food photographer. The pictures were really bad, so I removed them.

The pot roast wasn’t too bad on the points. Luckily we got a lean cut of meat, but it still ended up working out to 13 points. It could have been worse though!

The real diet challenge was birthday cake. I did the grocery shopping Sunday night and didn’t buy a cake mix or a cake because I wouldn’t have time to make it and it wouldn’t go with the diet well. But it was Doug’s birthday, so he wanted to have something. I had to go back to the store anyway, so I decided to check out the bakery and get something small.

This is what I found. I scoured nutrition information and got this chocolate raspberry cake. It was lowish carbs, but high fat. So it turns out I struck out in the points department. A serving was 9 points. But this little cake was FOUR servings! There were two pieces and a serving was a half a piece. Doug had a full piece and I stuck with the half. And it was really good. I wanted to have the other half.
I ended last night with 4 allowance points left, two days to go. Its some kind of cruel fate that I get all the diet challenges in one week. I’ll be testing whether you actually lose weight if you use all your allowance points.
Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

