Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Goal reached!

Leave a comment

I am so excited that I have reached my initial weight loss goal and then some. It was recommended to have small goals en route to the main goal, something I very much believe in. So when Doug and I joined weight watchers three weeks ago, my initial goal was to lose 5 percent of my starting weight, or 10.9 pounds.

As of this morning’s weigh in, I have surpassed that goal! I lost 2.4 pounds this week, in spite of my eating last weekend. My new weight is 204.4. I’m already well on my way to my next goal: 10 percent, which is only about 9 more pounds to get down to 195.3. But I also have an even smaller goal en route to that: Getting below 200 pounds. I passed 200 around the halfway point of my pregnancy in summer 2009. It was a big deal to me when I got under 200 the first time around, and it will be a big deal when I reach it again.

But back to this morning’s weigh in, 204.4 is the lowest number I’ve seen on the scale in almost a year. When I started working in mid-January 2010, I was losing weight and got all the way down to 202. That was the first three weeks of my job when I wasn’t working out and I was eating crap. I figured the weight would continue to come off once I got back into a gym routine and started eating better. I’m not sure what happened, but I ended up gaining 15 pounds in the next few months that refused to come off.

Its actually kind of embarrassing how easy this has been. I’ve said all along the last year that I know what to do to lose weight. But I obviously didn’t and I needed the help. I still need the help. And you know what? I’m OK with that. In a couple weeks I’ll be trying on my smaller clothes again and that moment will be awesome.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

