Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Duh!

1 Comment

Its not piriformis. At least my chiropractor doesn’t think so. He thinks its just still my lovely SI joint that has flared up because I went straight from the treadmill to the outside crazy hard runs!

Duh! I completely managed to forget the rule about transitioning from the treadmill to outside! You’re supposed to start small and alternate between outside and the TM for awhile to get your body used to the terrain. Geez. I went straight to a 4-mile hard run and ran outside 4 times in a row! No wonder my body is breaking.

It didn’t even occur to me until I was telling him about it. My very first outdoor run was about 2 and a half weeks ago and after that one my SI just felt out of whack. It progressed to the point where I could barely walk after a run! I had an adjustment last week and ran the next day. While the adjustment did help a bit, I just got all out of alignment again.

Pretty frustrating, as I was doing so well with the SI. But I’m glad at least its a recurrence of the same injury and not something new.

My plan is the same. I’ll take the rest of the week off or perhaps hit the elliptical this weekend. I’m using ice and ibuprofin. I should start doing my exercises again, but I don’t know if I will. And when I do start running again, hopefully next week, I’ll be more gradual about it. I’m back to more frequent adjustments for right now to get this back under control. Hopefully in a week or two I’ll be all aligned and running outside without losing much of my training.

I’ve been talking about running another half for two years now. I’m not giving up!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Duh!

  1. At least you figured it out sooner than later and that this week is so nasty outside that you aren't missing any nice running weather. Hope your leg feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

