Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Breaking through

1 Comment

I have never dragged myself to the gym and then not been happy I’d done it. So with that thought in mind I went this morning even though I really wanted to sleep. But I knew it wouldn’t have been a good sleep because I would have felt bad about not working out!

I wanted to run but I was nervous about it. My last run was OK but pretty rough. And in the last part of last week I added a cold to my poor body. But I hadn’t worked out in six days and I needed something.

It was worth it. Not the best run by any means, but a break through because while it was a bit uncomfortable, it got better, and I feel the best I’ve felt following a run in at least three weeks!

As a rule I don’t run when my breathing is compromised, which it certainly is. The cold’s moving into my chest, though it seems to have taken up residence in my throat/vocal cords right now as I have no voice! Back to the point… my breathing is compromised but it was OK enough that I ran because I was going stir crazy. I think too that it helped me to hold back. Part of the problem with last week’s run was that I was increasing speed and inclines. This time I held it steady and slow and it started feeling good!

The temperatures are warming up this week and I was hoping to get outside. Unfortunately though its also going to rain, at least on Wednesday morning when I run next. Rain beats snow but it’ll be another treadmill day.

The Shamrock Shuffle is on Sunday and I am confident now that I can do it. I suppose I was confident before. I could walk a 5K if I had to. But I’m back to running. Assuming I don’t have anymore hangups this week, I think I will register for the Madison half marathon before the fee goes up next week.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Breaking through

  1. Glad you are feeling better. I hope the weather cooperates for the race on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

