Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Confident but intimidated

Leave a comment

I ran two half marathons two years ago and while I don’t remember all the details, I know I had my share of self doubt.

Right now I’m both confident but also intimidated by the challenge I’m undertaking in nine weeks; and this feeling seems different from feelings I had three years ago. When I ran the 7-mile leg of the California International Marathon Relay in December, I knew I could do it. But now as the spectre of running more than 7 miles looms, I’m both excited and nervous.

I ran 6 miles yesterday. I felt great. I already noticed the difference between that run and the 5 miles I ran last Sunday. Thats what training is all about. But I sometimes get the very real fear that I can’t run any longer than 7 miles. Its been three years since I’ve done it and I’m paranoid about getting hurt. This could be a huge mental block for me when its time to run 8 miles in a couple weeks!

I guess all I can do is stick to my training plan and remind myself that I’ve done it before, even if it has been a long time. And I’ll do it again! I’m worried about injury but really I am in better shape than I’ve ever been, thanks to my slow buildup and also strength training from bodypump. I know I can do this. I’m itching to get started at the same time that I’m nervous. Its quite amusing to me how I roll these thoughts around in my mind.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

