Life as we know it

Our family adventures

March in review

Leave a comment

In March, my running finally came together!

I ran 39.6 miles in 8 hours, 43 minutes and 39 seconds. I had a good start to my half marathon training with, so far, three weeks of building mileage, including two new weekly mileage PRs. Here’s the direction I’m headed: In the last two weeks I’ve totalled 29 miles, which is more than I ran the entire month of December, January or February.

Bodypump is really toning my body and making me stronger. I ran my second 6-miler yesterday and I felt so good the whole time. I ran on the arb loop, which I haven’t run since last fall. Well, there are a couple hills on that loop that used to be really hard for me. Yesterday I barely noticed them! I’d thought about going  7 yesterday, but I did notice the hill at the end.

Another big development of March and the first few days of April is that I ran four days last week!

Its going so well right now, so I’m going to be extra sure I am only increasing by 10 percent each week and following all the other rules. I’ve been having some glute and/or piriformis issues, so I’m watching those carefully. I also have on my list starting strengthening exercises for my hips as well as starting again on my back exercises. I also need to get some more cross training in, but that probably won’t happen until my life calms down in a few weeks.

But speaking of my back, for the first time in a year and a half, I’m more pain free than ever.

April has already had a good start as well. I’ve run 10 miles so far this month. I’ve also crossed the 100-mile mark for the year. If I can keep training well, I will be on track for 60+ miles this month, which willl be another PR, at least since I started running again in December of 2009. I’m crossing my fingers for all these good things to continue!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

