Life as we know it

Our family adventures

How is this so easy?

1 Comment

I’m quite surprised by the progress I’m making in my training lately. My runs are getting faster, but at the same time feeling easier. It doesn’t seem like those two qualities should be related.

But right now, they are. My average pace lately is right around 12 minutes. I ran 6 miles on Sunday and 4 of them were under 12 minutes. At the same time, my legs felt so strong and I didn’t even feel winded. I felt like I was moving slowly, but still I was going super fast.

I am at a point where I am more fit than I have ever been. I am still a bit slower than I was when I used run/walk intervals three years ago, but I think I’ll get past that point soon too. My weight loss, which seemed like it was starting to plateau, seems to be jumpstarting again. Perhaps its my metabolism speeding up?

If only I didn’t have to deal with shin splints right now, my running would be perfect! But really, the shin splints are getting better too. In fact, I probably wouldn’t do a second cutback week this week, but I’m not sure how well it would work to try to add miles onto my 8K race on Saturday. It certainly wouldn’t work to run 4 miles before the race. And considering how I push my pace right now, 4 miles wouldn’t work after either.

Hmmmm, I wonder whats in store for me in four and a half weeks? Hopefully my training for the four weeks after this cutback keep going as well as it is now.

One more good development: I’ve officially hit a mileage PR for April, and there’s still another week! As of this morning, I’ve run 59 miles this month. I finally did the calculation, and my previous month’s PR was 51.5 miles in September. Woo hoo! I won’t hit the 80 that I thought I would a couple weeks ago, but 70 is a possibility. Thats still quite amazing to me!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “How is this so easy?

  1. Glad everything is going so well for you. Good luck at the race on Saturday. I wish I could run Crazylegs, but I'll be in an airplane on the way to a conference for work.

Leave a Reply

