Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Ready to go

1 Comment

My cutback last week definitely had its desired effect. I am really excited for the Crazylegs Classic on Saturday and I was raring to go this morning for my run. I was aiming for 5 miles this morning, but left 4 on the table in case my shins acted up. I am happy to say I didn’t feel a peep from my shins AT ALL! I still iced after the run though. I do feel a slight ache in the right shin now, but its nothing I’m concerned about. Hopefully continuing to do all that will keep them from peeping.

When I run during the week I go through my neighborhood, but only certain parts because other parts a really hilly. Running the same route all the time gets boring though. I was going to take my normal 5-mile route, but it started to drizzle after about a mile, so I decided to stay closer to home. Instead of running the same loop a few times, however, I decided to branch out and up one of said hills. This road was part of my route three years ago when I did run/walk intervals, but I only had gone up from the other side, which was less steep. Well, this morning I ran all the way up and didn’t stop! I expected to stop, but I kept going. And it felt great to go down the other side.

After all was said and done, I ran 5 miles in 59 minutes and 36 seconds, which is averaging 11:56 pace, my fastest logged (non-race) pace yet! After Sunday I was starting to think I can run the Crazylegs in under and hour, and now I know I can. When I was registering the system couldn’t find my previous time (65ish-minute range), so I got to predict my time. I thought I was being optimistic by predicting 62 minutes! I went back into my archive blog posts and found that for Crazylegs 2009, I’d predicted 70 minutes and was in the second to last wave. I won’t be in the second to last wave this year.

And I’ve been on the runner’s high since. I was talking Doug’s ear off in the car about my goals and my excitement. I’m now considering changing my plans and doing a long run this week after all. My current thought is running 4 miles or so soon after finishing the race on Saturday. I’ll just have to see how I feel. I could also run 9 miles on Sunday, but considering I think it was high mileage two days in a row that brought on my shin splints, I’ll probably keep Sunday shorter. If I do a long run this week, I could still get to 12 miles the week before the half.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Ready to go

  1. Yay! I love runs where you just feel "on". Good luck tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

