Life as we know it

Our family adventures

It’ll be crazy

Leave a comment

Tomorrow is the Crazylegs Classic. It truly is crazy. An article on the race web site from a month ago said 22,000 runners were anticipated, which would be a record. Last year was just short of 21,000.

So I’m not sure why I was surprised to be assigned to wave tt! The waves start with a, go through the alphabet and then go with double letters through the alphabet again. So there are 52 waves. I don’t know how many people are in each wave. I’m not sure how often the waves start either. It may be possible that I won’t start running until close to noon, and the race starts at 10!

At least I’m not last though! There are 7 waves behind me. I predicted 62 minutes when I signed up. I guess there are a lot of people who are way faster than me!

Doug and Allie are doing the 2-mile walk and they’ll probably be done walking before I start running. Its a little annoying, but its a Madison tradition.

Anyway, I’ve let myself set my expectations high for this race. My recent runs have been averaging right around a 12-minute pace. So I’m expecting to finish in under an hour. I thought when I signed up that 62 minutes was optimistic! I ran this race two years ago in 1:05:17.

What I’m debating right now is adding some miles in order to run a total of 9 or 10 tomorrow. This week was originally my cutback week, but since I cut back last week I’m hoping to do my long run this week. My thought had been to run 4 or so miles soon after the race. But considering how long I’ll be hanging around downtown tomorrow before the race, it seems logical to run extra before the race. But how would the race go then? I ran a mile to warmup for my last 5K and the results weren’t that good.

I guess I’ll just have to see how things go in the morning. Who knows what could happen?

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

