Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I’m a runner

Leave a comment

It seems obvious. But until recently I hesitated to call myself a runner. Maybe because of my speed or the fact that I didn’t feel like I fit what a runner should be. But I am.

I suppose I really started calling myself a runner after completing the CIM relay. But it was right after that when winter came and I was banished to the treadmill, only to get shin splints again and see my mileage suffer.

In the last few months my confidence has most definitely grown. I feel like a runner. But its not if I feel like I am or if I’m running a certain speed or a certain number of miles. Its simple really. I run. I am a runner.

I love running because I have infinite opportunity for improvement. I started running several years ago to go with my diet and other exercise. I joined Team in Training in 2008 because I needed a challenge. I learned that I can make my body do anything. I was slow, but it didn’t matter. I achieved my goal of running a half marathon. I kept running after that and ran another half. I got faster. I got hurt. If anything, getting hurt made me a runner, right?

I was hurt. Then I was pregnant. I wasn’t able to run like I wanted to, but I was still a runner. I gave birth and again learned I can make my body do anything. So surely I could train and run another half marathon. I told everyone who would listen about my plans. I built up and got shin splints. I didn’t make my half marathon goal. But I kept running and improving my distance and endurance. I started losing weight again and ran.

I finally started training and even got brave enough to register for my half marathon. I got shin splints again. I got achilles tendonitis again. I got faster and stronger and more confident. I got a new body. I’m talking everyone’s ear off about what I’m doing. I’m pushing myself and running even when I don’t feel like it because I have a goal and I will conquer. I’m navigating the challenges and so excited for this half marathon. Only 26 days! It took a year longer than I planned, but I’m doing it! I proudly call myself a runner and now believe every word because I can make my body do anything.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

