Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Over the hump

Leave a comment

Five weeks ago, I hopped off the diet wagon for just one week, for my sister’s wedding. I sort of got back to it the next week, but then I caved to a bag of Starburst jellybeans. The next week I did OK, but not great, and then I ate way too much after the Crazylegs Classic. Another week came and went with completely blowing it because of a 10-mile run, Mother’s Day brunch, traveling to a funeral and then a treat day at work. That was the week I gained 3.2 pounds. I’m still somewhat amazed that being off the diet four weeks, I only gained once, meaning I still lost (though small amounts in week 2 and 3) for the other three.

So this week I finally hopped back on the diet wagon and stayed there. We had plenty going on-my 10-mile race and my cousin’s wedding, but every other day of the week I tracked (most stuff) like a good girl and kept within the realm of my weekly allowance points and my activity points. And I got a lot of activity points: 84! I earned 26 alone for my 10-miler.

Anyway, on to the point of this post: At this morning’s weigh-in I had lost 6 pounds! Now I discount 3.2 of them because thats the water weight I had gained last week. That weight was gone by Friday morning. But weight loss is weight loss and I’ll proudly claim it.

In my month off the diet, I saw 182 on the scale several times, but never in an official capacity. My goal this week was to see 182 officially-that is, on the Thursday morning weigh-in. Well, this week I plunged past it to land at 180.6!

I’ve been stating my first goal as 175, which is my pre-pregnancy weight. I’ve also been claiming a secondary goal of 174. Well, it makes more sense to just have one goal. So 174 it is. Thats pre-pregnancy and the number at which I make the switch from obese to overweight. And now that I’m making progress again, with a mere 7 pounds to go, I think I can surely reach there in two to three weeks!

When I started Weight Watchers, I lost 15 pounds in the first month and an average of about 7 in the following months (until April, that is). You lose weight quickly when starting a diet because of losing the water and whatnot. Perhaps since I was off for a month, I’ll see that kind of weight loss again? Even if I don’t, I feel good. I have hopefully gotten off my plateau and within three weeks, I expect to finally reach that goal!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

