Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I made it!

1 Comment

With my 2 miles run this morning, my training is done. My next run is THE run. Race day. I’ve been waiting a long time for this. Its a bit surreal to think about: I made it! It took three years since my last half to get to my next one, but I’ve made it!

In late October 2008, I decided I too could run a full marathon. Doug and I were on our way to Detroit for the weekend and I read “A Race Like No Other,” which chronicled the 2007 New York Marathon. It was barely a few days later that I got hurt. A month after that I found out it was a stress fracture. I resigned myself to spending the winter recovering, but determined to get back on the road and race in spring 2009. That didn’t happen as I found out about my pregnancy two days after being cleared to run again. I think that was actually a blessing in disguise. The pelvic stress fracture is a long recovery and I don’t know that I was really that confident to run much even after my doctor cleared me. I did run a bit that spring and summer, but I couldn’t maintain it.

Oct. 30, 2009, I gave birth to my beautiful daughter and told anyone who would listen about my plans to get back to running and run the Madison half in spring 2010. A couple months, a new job and a bout with shin splints later, I decided 2010 wouldn’t be my year after all. Dealing with injury made me paranoid. I settled on the CIM relay with my dear Mama friends knowing that it was a very attainable distance to mark my comeback and then continue on to the half. It was a fantastic trip and an even better confidence-building race. Winter was tough with a lot of treadmill running, but I made it through and now I’m reaping the reward.

I always say that what I love the most about running is the infinite possibility for improvement. I can keep getting faster or running farther or getting stronger. This goal took me a year longer to achieve than I thought it would, but that doesn’t diminish it any less. I’ve improved by leaps and bounds and I’ll continue to improve! I’ve come back from injury, childbirth, coordinating work and life, dealing with my weight, injuries and my health, to finally achieve the goal that I set right after I ran my last half in 2008. I know I’ll be setting a brand new goal right after finishing this one. And I’ll reach this goal sharing it with my dear family and especially my darling little Allie. This is pretty sweet.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “I made it!

  1. Jessica, we are all SO proud of you!!

Leave a Reply

