Life as we know it

Our family adventures

On to the next goal

Leave a comment

I am basking in the glow of my half marathon victory. But I’m also planning my next goal. I’ve actually been thinking about my next goal for a long time now.

There’s a race in Milwaukee that I first read about in the back pages of Runner’s World Magazine, where there are ads for races throughout the country grouped by region. The SummerFest Rock ‘n’ Sole Half Marathon and 10K is in Milwaukee July 10, the last day of SummerFest. Its the first year and at least by looking at the web site, its a race I’d really like to run. It looks to be a beautiful course along the Milwaukee lakefront. Maybe we could finally go to SummerFest after the race. We’ve lived here 5 years and never been.

While I have no doubt that I could train for another half marathon in six weeks, I really don’t want to. Plus I’ve only run one 10K since I started running again, the Berbee Derby last Thanksgiving. I am really interested to see how my 10K time changes from last fall.

After that I plan my next half to be the Madison Mini-Marathon on Aug. 20. I admit, I didn’t really want to run this one. I ran the 5K last year and wasn’t as impressed with how the 5K seemed to be an afterthought. There’s a good possibility a half marathon here in August will be miserable. And I also get annoyed with the constant bombardment that is the advertising for that race. But I do like the course a lot, it is cheaper than other races at $50 (the Rock ‘n’ Sole half is $80) and its in town. Its way convenient, except that home base is on the UW campus, where parking is next to impossible. But thats still more convenient than traveling to a race. We’re really lucky in Madison to have several longer distance races to choose from (there’s another full/half marathon in late October as well).

Besides those two goal races, there are plenty of others around here in the summer. The Waunakee 10-miler at the end of July is one that I liked three years ago. My sister is talking about starting to run so we might run a 5K together. I’ll figure that out as I go along.

Right now I’m planning a few miles tomorrow and then just seeing what I feel like. I will run this week and next, but without structure. When I get back to training in two weeks my goal is to run more long runs of 10 or more miles, hopefully at least one at 14. Getting the quantity of longer runs is what will keep me from fading the last 3 miles like I did on Sunday.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

