Life as we know it

Our family adventures

May in review: Hitting my stride

Leave a comment

May was a great running month. Not only did I finally run my first half marathon in three years, but I also set a PR for my monthly mileage! I recorded 91.7 miles in May. It took 18 hours, 43 minutes and 12 seconds. I shattered my previous PR by a lot. In April I had 69, March 39.6 and before that under 30. I’m wishing I knew where to find my paper log from 2008 to see if this is an all-time PR or just a recent one.

So now my year-to-date is actually ahead of my goal mileage for the year. Counting the 3 miles that I ran this morning, I’ve run 257.2 miles since January. When I set my goal of 600 miles for the year, I worked it out to 50 per month, so my goal by the end of May was 250.

I expect June to be a lot less mileage as I recover from the half. But even considering that, it now looks like I can easily increase my goal for mileage this year. I’m considering upping it to 750 or maybe 700.

My one fail for the month of May was in my diet. The last six weeks have been absolutely crazy. I was optimistic as we were going through, but now in retrospect I know we had a bad stretch. Luckily things are calming down in June and Doug and I will both get back on track on our diets. As part of this effort I’m revamping my methods for menu planning and grocery shopping. I’m hoping I can come up with something that is better for our budget, our diet and our schedule!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

