Life as we know it

Our family adventures

The perils of Body Pump

Leave a comment

Or should I say, running 9 miles the day after my first Body Pump class in five weeks!

I had a hard time making my workout schedule work to get to body pump before yesterday. But now I’m back! And the class was easier than I expected. I was able to use the same weight I’d been using before my long break. It was hard and I almost took some weight off during the chest track, but I made it. Somehow I also managed to do lunges and push ups better (or at least more efficiently) than usual.

So I expected to be sore later, of course. Hello hammies! I was pretty sore by last night but my legs felt fine to run. I’d planned 9 miles for today, so I set out to run.

It was terribly hot, but the 75% humidity made it tough. I finally brought water along though, which helped a lot. I felt pretty good through about 6.5 miles. Then I started having some tummy issues and the humidity started affecting me more. I pushed through and then with about 1.5 miles to go, my sore legs took over, the perils of body pump. I ended up walking about a third of the last mile. But I did it!

I logged 21 miles in the first week of half marathon training, and I think I’ll end up making week 2 a cutback. We’re on vacation this week and going out of town starting Wednesday, coming back Saturday. I was thinking I’d rather move my long run before the trip, but with how sore I am right now, I don’t see that happening. I suppose I might run 10 on Sunday after we get back, but I doubt I have the motivation after a long trip. So I’ll cut back and then have 8 weeks of training with two other cutback weeks. That will work out to a cutback every fourth week. I still have to check how this fits with my race schedule! Since I did 9 today, I’ll have six more long runs that will be 10 miles or more. For the Madison half I only had 3.

Tomorrow I’m thinking I’ll see how the day works out and either pick a class at the gym or go for a swim. Its been a long time since I swam laps.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

