Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Freedom Run 10K

1 Comment

The Freedom Run in DeForest was my first 10K three years ago. What I always remember about 10Ks is they always seem so long. I don’t know what it is… I ran a half marathon without a problem, but I got past 5 miles this morning and it just seemed to take forever.

I haven’t run a 10K since Thanksgiving and I was so excited to see how I could improve my time. I improved it by over 5 minutes! I ran the 10K in 1:12:38.

There’s nothing really exceptional to report from this race. I started out well, not too fast. It was hotter than I realized and I really wanted to stop. But I didn’t. I didn’t walk except for the water stations. Immediately as we started I became preoccupied with the thought that I was going to finish last. I don’t know why I worry about that. It doesn’t matter even if I do finish last!

Well, the 10K course turned off from the 5K and I found out I wasn’t last. I kept wanting to stop, but I didn’t want the people behind me to pass. So I didn’t stop. I ran by myself most of the time. But I lost the people who were behind me. And then in the last 2 miles, I passed two people!

While I was running, Dada and Allie played on the playground. He said they mostly played on the fire truck. It was Fireman’s park, after all.

Of course Allie wore her red, white and blue today!

And then I finally made it to the finish line, and they were there to cheer me on!

Allie was much more preoccupied with my granola bar instead of being proud of Mama. But we still got a nice picture together.

Then it was time to go home to get this tired kid a nap. She definitely needed the nap, but it took her a little while to realize it. It was a nice way to celebrate America’s birthday. And after a shower, Mama and Dada had a fun time grilling out and napping in the afternoon. That’s the way to wrap up a holiday weekend.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Freedom Run 10K

  1. You're such an inspiration! Look at you go! And you ran 11 MILES! That must feel so rewarding! You've been added to my blog roll! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

