Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Sounding like a broken record

1 Comment

I’m annoyed, disappointed. I went on vacation two weeks ago. I gained almost 4 pounds on vacation. Two weeks after vacation, I haven’t shed all those pounds yet. I rationalized that whole week that I didn’t have to worry about my eating because I was on vacation. Uggggh.

I weigh myself almost daily. I know I shouldn’t, but I do. So when I saw the number yesterday morning, I thought for sure that last vacation pound would be gone by this morning’s weigh-in. It wasn’t. So the day didn’t have a great start.

I know I should be glad I lost weight, which I am. But I’m just so annoyed with how long it takes. Its my fault though because I have no restraint. I diet when it works for me and forget about it when it doesn’t. Thats not a terrible way to do it, but that does make it take longer!

Oh well, it is what it is. There’s no reason to dwell on it all day long, which I have. I feel like a broken record every couple weeks saying “diet’s back on…” until the next challenge pops up and I decide to just eat to my heart’s content.

Well, the diet’s back on, starting today. I am tracking every morsel that I eat, no matter how bad it is. I was expecting a triumphant post three weeks ago saying I’d finally reached my goal. Now, however, I weigh 178.4, 3.4 pounds above my goal. I can do this in a week. I will do this in a week! I’m running 25 to 30 miles a week now, working out five or six days a week. Surely I can control what goes in my mouth and lose this freakin’ weight!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Sounding like a broken record

  1. You will! I don't know anyone who doesn't let their diet go off the rails when they are on vacation and then have to take corrective action. It's frustrating to see your hard work undone, but I bet you'll have an extra burst of weight loss just getting back to normal this week. What does your schedule look like Tues-Thurs next week? I think I'm going to try to organize a trip to the Concert of the Square this week with some coworkers, and you'd be welcome to come join us. They are very nice, and one is a runner who does a bunch of TNT stuff, also. If staying downtown that late doesn't work, maybe we could do dinner Tuesday or Thursday or coffee one of those evenings.

Leave a Reply

