Life as we know it

Our family adventures

A weekend of good eats

1 Comment

Its not good for the diet, but it sure was good for our pleasure! I’m not a food blogger, but this weekend made me wish I was.

I had been planning to run 8 to 10 miles in the morning on Saturday, but I slept an extra hour and then I thought it was going to rain. It didn’t. So instead of working out I indulged in chocolate chip pancakes for a family breakfast. I like making pancakes on the weekends and added the chocolate chip a couple weeks ago and we’ve been obsessed ever since.

The morning ended up being pretty nice and I could have gone out for my run and still have been comfortable. Instead we all got showered and dressed and headed out to the farmer’s market where we got some awesome stuff for relatively cheap! Our finds included tomatoes, cucumbers, green beans and corn on the cob. We got ground round that was only $2.89 a pound-every other booth with meat had it for $4 or $5 a pound, I don’t know why this stuff is so cheap! We’ve had it before and its so good! This might be the only item we actually do get cheaper at the farmer’s market. Anyway, the other highlight was a pound of Door County cherries! Yum. The only thing I really wanted that we didn’t get was cheese curds. I’ll get those Wednesday for sure! We were also sad to realize that no one had asparagus. I guess it must be out of season.

We got home and had a guilty pleasure lunch in the form of Taco Bell. Yum. Once Allie went down for nap we made the grocery list to incorporate what we got from the farmer’s market. We ended up getting pork to have with our green beans and corn for dinner. That was good eatin’ and super quick and easy to make! Got some lettuce to use with cucumbers and tomato for salad-would have gotten some lettuce at the farmers market but forgot. We also planned tacos to use that awesome ground round and tomatoes. The best part will be cherry muffins. I’d found the recipe awhile ago and I wanted to try it. I wanted to make the muffins during the weekend, but I didn’t have time.

During Allie’s nap I finally went out for that run… when it was close to 90 degrees. I made it to 7 miles and considered myself lucky that I didn’t make myself sick. It wasn’t fun, but I wanted to get it done so I could do the next part of our day without guilt: Ice cream at the Union Terrace. Ooooooooh that stuff is good! I had a double scoop, I can never have just one. On a side note, so many of the things we do here in Wisconsin revolves around ice cream. After we got back from there, I fed Allie and put her to bed while Doug did the shopping. We had our late dinner of pork chops with dinner rolls, corn on the cob and green beans. Yum yum!

The awesomeness doesn’t end there however! Sunday for lunch I made sausage with peppers to go with our salad. That was really filling. Then that afternoon we had a date day complete with movie theater popcorn, candy and monster drinks. To close it all out, we went to the Dayton Street Grill for the start of restaurant week. Oh was that good. Restaurants that participate have special three-course menus for $25, so its a good chance to sample restaurants we can’t normally afford. I had onion and white bean soup, salmon summer succotash and chocolate panna cotta with a door county cherry sauce! Wow.

I was sad when the alarm went off this morning, if only because the good eating was done! But we do still have our yummy farmer’s market haul. I’m hoping to make those muffins tomorrow night.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “A weekend of good eats

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

Leave a Reply

