Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Blast from the past

Leave a comment

Its kind of strange not being so focused on running the last few weeks. Don’t get me wrong… I’m focused. But not on training for a race. I’m at a good fitness level and just maintaining. Its refreshing. I’ve never reached a point where I could just maintain. I have my eye on a half in November and will pick up my training probably toward the end of August. But until then I’ll just run three days a week and enjoy some other cross training. I’ll end up with weekly mileage between 15 and 20 and can easily throw in the occasional 10-miler.

My new obsession is body combat. Its Les Mills’ version of cardio kickboxing. Kickboxing was one of the first aerobics classes I discovered when I lived in Carbondale and got a membership to SIU’s student rec center. Along with Rock Bottom (abs, glutes and thighs), I eventually made these classes a one-day-a-week ritual. I couldn’t go more often since I worked nights, but I would have. I had yet to pick up running, so this combination would be the basis of my first round of weight loss and learning to enjoy exercise in general.

It doesn’t require the coordination or the moves of step aerobics or “dance”-type classes. Its so basic: Four punches and four kicks. Believe it or not, even with so few basics there are endless possibilities for variety.

One thing kickboxing is giving me that running or other classes like spin don’t is agility. I’m getting quicker and lighter on my feet. Its hard for me to explain, but I’ll suffice it to say that a year ago I couldn’t move like that. And like so many other things I’ve added to my workout regimen in the few months, I can see the difference in my running. I see the difference just in the quality of my runs because I’m not fixating on a certain mileage four days a week. I’m running just to run. I also see the difference in my balance and speed.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

