Life as we know it

Our family adventures

This week in running

Leave a comment

I haven’t really figured out what methods I’d like to use to train for my next half marathon on Nov. 5, or even when I want to start training. But in preparation for training, I decided this week to go back to running four days a week. I thought I’d take one more week at three days, but this week I really wanted to run more, so I did!

When I tried to train for the Madison Mini, I had a teeny tiny injury scare. In fact, I don’t even remember what the issue was. I think it had to do with my hip and getting used to my heel lift and my groin was sore, which always scares me. So anyway, this time I decided to go back to four days a week, but keep the same mileage for a couple weeks. I ran 18 miles last week, with my three runs of 5, 3, and 10. This week I ran 18.5 miles, four runs of 3, 4.5, 3 and 8. So it was kind of nice to have four shorter runs. I’ll probably do the same this week.

Monday night I ran 3 miles at dusk and found out that heat index of 90 is just as unpleasant after the sun goes down. Wednesday morning’s run was planned as 4, but I went long and then evened it out at 4.5. That one went well, I think it was even cool. Friday morning was 3 miles and since I was going short I decided to do hills. It was really humid that morning and I was glad I’d only planned 3 because those 3 really tired me out.

This morning it was raining so I didn’t get out for my long run until 10. It was 71 and felt nice with a cool breeze. Before I got to 2 miles, however, the sun came out. It was hot. I ran 5 miles before stopping for fuel. After that stop I got really hot and my toes also started to hurt. I’ve had this problem with these shoes, even though its my third pair of the same shoe, same model. I don’t know what the difference is. I don’t think its having the heel lift because my toes hurt worse on my left foot while the heel lift is on my right. I’m wondering if maybe my feet just swell more during a run when its so hot and my shoes are a little small for that much swelling? I really don’t know, but its a problem.

So this week I logged 18.5 miles and I’ll plan to do about that much this week. Keeping my mileage the same for a couple weeks still helps me say sort of cut back and will also help me to better deal with increasing miles. Now I need to decide how I’m going to train!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

