Life as we know it

Our family adventures

The deal breaker

Leave a comment

So I tried my shoe experiment this morning. And the good news is… my toes weren’t squished! So it seems like my idea was correct that the more substantial orthotic fills the shoe more and keeps my foot in place.

The only problem? I have blisters on my arches now. The second half of my 4 miles felt like I was running on knives. And since I was running on knives, I was also favoring the outside of my feet, which made them hurt. Unfortunately this means I will have to go buy new shoes after all. There are some places where it seems blisters go away eventually, but the arch is not one of them. When I was trying running shoes way back in 2008, I tried a pair of adidas that I loved because of the color and design… but those had high arches for my feet. I think I tried to run in them for close to two weeks and the blisters continued.

So yeah, the blisters are the deal breaker. But there was the problem that we got new cell phones yesterday and spent a bit more than we could truly afford. So how would I buy new running shoes too?

It turns out I got a great surprise when we got home from buying the phones! In the mail was a $100 check for me from our health insurance company, for the wellness program! I had signed up back in December but had never gotten around to seeing what I had to do. Its one of those programs where if you work out a certain number of times it reimburses you some money. I figured I had to submit some paperwork. But I’m guessing it was tracked automatically when I swiped my card at the gym!

SCORE!

So we got our cool new phones AND I get new shoes. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of other things we could spend that $100 on, but it seems appropriate to use a wellness check for a new pair of running shoes.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

