Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Not just for kids!

1 Comment

This has been a good eating week. Two food posts in one day! Good eating week but it might not be so good at weigh-in tomorrow morning!

Lunch was the leftover pea and ham risotto. Tonight I tried panko-crusted fish sticks. We aren’t really a seafood family. I like fish more now than when I was a kid. Doug doesn’t really like it much at all. But I found this recipe and wanted to try it.

They looked yummy from the start! This recipe is another that in the past I have avoided. Its only recently that I’ve started trying new things in the kitchen! I’ve never cooked with fish before unless you count canned fish. Fish is expensive though for a kid-type meal!

The fish sticks turned out just like the picture in spite of some substitutions. The blog post says that the panko bread crumbs add a little crispiness. I will agree! Unfortunately I didn’t realize until I was about ready to get the fish breaded and in the oven that I didn’t have an egg for the coating! A quick internet search and I chose to try melted butter instead. It turned out fine. Of course maybe it would have been better with the egg, who knows?

The 1 1/4 cups of bread crumbs ended up being way too much even though I was using a full pound of fish. I didn’t really taste much of the other spices I put in the breading. Maybe decreasing the bread crumbs will increase the flavor?

I was planning on fish sticks with sweet potato fries. I’ve had a bag in the freezer for awhile now. I love sweet potato fries. Alas, I don’t see any fries in the above picture, do you? I cooked half the bag and left it in the oven for the full cooking time without turning or stirring. The result was some charred fries! Luckily we had a pack of instant potatoes and we always have frozen veggies.

Considering fish sticks are supposed to be a kid-friendly meal, Allie didn’t seem overly enthusiastic. But she did eat a good amount, so I guess she liked it. Mama and Dada liked it. There are a lot of leftovers. That could be interesting because things with breading don’t always reheat well. Overall, this one will be in our rotation but maybe not as often as others.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Not just for kids!

  1. I think fish sticks are kid friendly because they are basically a ketchup delivery device. At least they are when I eat them :).

Leave a Reply

