Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Another risotto recipe!

Leave a comment

I actually made this last week, but between problems uploading my photos and being way too busy, it didn’t get posted last week!

Risotto is a recent discovery that, while a bag of the rice seems expensive, in my opinion its totally worth the price. We really like the risotto with peas and ham that I’ve posted about here before, but its quite labor intensive since it has to be stirred for a half hour!

Well a couple weeks ago in my browsing, I found this risotto from the oven with sausasage and bell pepper! From the oven meaning I didn’t have to stir it for a half hour!
It starts with cooking up the sausage and peppers. The recipe says to double quantities if you’re making it for dinner. I was, so I did. The pan was barely big enough. But we love sausage, so I knew we’d eat it all.

This recipe used all these fancy ingredients like fresh rosemary and passato, which is defined as smooth tomato pulp. I didn’t know what the heck that meant and upon further research its a cross between tomato paste and sauce and tomatoes may or may not be cooked. But its not widely available in the United States, more common in Europe. So why the heck does the recipe call for it? Apparently passato makes a better texture than just plain tomato sauce. Whatever, I found this fancy box of strained tomatoes, which was close enough for me.

All the ingredients simmering in the skillet. This recipe actually specifies using a skillet that can go in the oven. I don’t have one of those… but I run across these kinds of recipes a lot so I may stick it on my Christmas list. Since I didn’t have an oven-proof skillet, I had to spoon it into the cassarole dish.
And the finished product. The tomato taste was pretty strong, maybe a bit stronger than I like. The recipe said bake for 20 minutes, but unfortunately this one took 45. But it makes sense because it was a double recipe and started in a cold pan. Risotto is made when the rice absorbs the liquid, so it makes sense that it takes double the time.
For how much work this was, I don’t know if I’d make it again. Maybe it wouldn’t be as much work in a single recipe. It made plenty, we had lunches all week.
Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

