Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Cooking with Mama

Leave a comment

Dada got sick yesterday and went straight to bed when we got home from work. I could have just made us something quick for dinner because Dada wasn’t going to eat. But I needed to make something that would have leftovers to take to work for lunch. So I made this pasta with Mexican black bean salsa.

We really like black beans in this house. And while it doesn’t really look all that appetizing, its really good! The combination of the black beans with tomatoes and spices is very tasty. And it didn’t look like it made a whole lot of sauce, but when I was putting the leftovers away, there was a lot in the bowl.

Since it was just me and Allie and Allie doesn’t react well to being penned in the living room by herself, I let her have the run of the house while I cooked, hoping she’d take an interest in what I was doing. She did! I cooked on the back burners of the stove so she couldn’t reach them. She stood on the step stool and watched everything I did with interest. She was interested in everything: chopping onions, opening cans, measuring the spices. She looked at everything and smelled it too before I put it in. She thought it was really cool when I used the food processor to blend the beans with the sauce and also when I drained the pasta.
And then in another bonus, Allie actually ate her dinner! Dada hasn’t tried the black bean sauce yet, but Mama and Allie really like it! It was quick and easy and a nice alternative to regular marinara sauce. Its a keeper!
Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

