Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Ready for the race

1 Comment

Today was a Mama mental health day. There’s a big database conversion going on at work so a big chunk of our work was unaccessible today and tomorrow too. So anyone who wanted to could take vacation time. I took today off for a solo day and then Dada is off tomorrow and we’re going to Minneapolis!

When I realized that I’d have to run 13 miles today since I wouldn’t have time this weekend, I was a little disappointed. But it was actually really nice to do my long run and not have to go right back to Mama mode.

Anyway, the run went well. I started fueling sooner than I felt like I needed it and that really helped. I did have to take three walk breaks, but not until after 8 miles. I had to walk all of mile 12 because the road I was on was being repaved and there were no sidewalks. I suppose it was nice to rest a bit though too. My total time for the run was 2:37:22, which is almost the same as my time in the Madison half. And since I know the roads on the half marathon will all be paved, I know I will improve my time in the race!

So with this run I feel ready to run a half marathon two weeks earlier than planned. I wasn’t sure if I’d taper next week or do a regular long run. But considering I basically tapered the last three weeks, I won’t taper next week. I’ll do a shorter long run, around 9 or 10 miles. And then its the race!

The nice thing about doing my half two weeks earlier is that hopefully I can run the Girls on the Run 5K thats a week after my original half. I like that race because I like what GOTR stands for. And if there’s a kids race for that one, I’d like to enter Allie. She really enjoys “running” when we go on our walks!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Ready for the race

  1. Nothing like a good last long run to give you confidence going into a race. I'm actually home from work sick today (first sick day since 2008!) so I'm not sure how that bodes for the Literacy Network run on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

