Life as we know it

Our family adventures

My official half marathon goals

1 Comment

My ankle is better today, thank goodness! Its improved steadily. Yesterday I could walk but I couldn’t go up or down stairs because that required more flexing. By last night the stairs were fine but it still hurt if I flexed too much. I’ve been working on loosening it up without making it hurt too much by doing the ABCs, pointing and flexing and also achilles stretches. I just did some achilles stretches pretty far without any pain! This is quite a relief!

I don’t know if I will run tomorrow. I know I don’t NEED to run before the race. But I feel like it would be good to test my ankle. And I’m determined to make it to 100 miles this month. I think I may go test it tomorrow morning, but on the treadmill. That way I can bail if I need to and I also remove the chance of tripping on something in the dark and hurting myself worse! I need to find my brace too. I haven’t been using it the last two days because I couldn’t find it. But I think considering that ankle has been bugging me for sometime before this injury, running with the ankle brace would be a good idea. Though the idea of taping my foot to avoid blisters does not sound good, but it will be necessary.

And so, sure that I will indeed be running on Saturday morning, here are my goals:
1.) Conservative goal: Beat my previous time of 2:38:28. I have full confidence that I will achieve this.
2.) Main goal: Break 2:30. I’m fairly confident I can do this.
3.) If I’m feeling awesome and having a freakishly great race goal: Beat my PR of 2:21:45. I don’t know how optimistic I am about this, but who knows. Its been windy lately. If the wind is blowing in the right direction, maybe it will help me along!

Its been getting cold here lately. I’m questioning what I will wear for the race. The forecast now is a little warmer than what it is right now, with a low of 39 and high of 62. I think the wind is supposed to calm down, so it won’t help me to a PR, but I also won’t be freezing! Since the race is over an hour away, I will probably just layer and bring a bunch of different clothes and make a decision when I get there.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “My official half marathon goals

  1. Yay for your ankle feeling better! The wind has been crazy lately. I hope it has calmed down by Saturday so you can have a great race.

Leave a Reply

