Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Almost there

Leave a comment

With today’s 8-miler, I’ve reached a new monthly mileage PR! But I’m not done yet! I’m at 98.1 for the month, so I only have to run 2 on Monday to get to 100!

I really didn’t feel like running today. I’m done with the really long runs, I don’t have any reason for double digits. I also have no reason to get up early to do them on the weekends! So I ran this afternoon after we went to the pumpkin patch. Allie was napping and I went out for it. Doug is so encouraging with my running. He knows this is important to me and when I said I don’t feel like it, he said do it anyway, at least 5 miles.

I was going to be OK with 6. It wasn’t my body that didn’t want to run 8, it was my head. So when I got out there, I just made myself do it. And I was glad I did!

I have two more races this year. The Girls on the Run 5K is Nov. 12 and the Berbee Derby is Nov. 24. I’m running the 10K for the Berbee Derby.

To follow up on my last post, I did run outside Friday morning when it was only 32 degrees, even though I couldn’t find my gloves. I used my sleeves and was warm enough before I was through a mile. And then Friday when we went grocery shopping I bought some more. I was toasty until my legs went numb. I guess 32 is the temp when I need to have two layers of pants! I’d like to get some tights, but they’re pricey and I don’t know if they’d be worth it. Maybe if I really do get outside more this winter.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

