Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Encouragement, right when I need it

1 Comment

Talk about the perfect storm, body-wise. I sprain my ankle and can’t work out. I’d been going up and down in weigh-ins, but a bit more up. Then in the span of a week, I rip out two pairs of jeans!

I was surprisingly level-headed about the whole thing. The jeans were old. Almost all my jeans are at least four years old since I bought them the last time I was losing weight. And both pairs that ripped out last week were older than that, one was WAY older. Both had been mended multiple times. So I didn’t get upset.

I wasn’t working out, but I also toned down my diet a bit too. It was like my appetite was shrinking since I wasn’t working out, made sense. I started working out again this week and for the most part I’m keeping my eating in check. And the good news is… my weight is back down in my usual range! My usual right now seems to be between 174 and 176.

So here’s where I got the encouragement. I went yesterday to Goodwill to buy some jeans to replace the worn out ones. I’ve been thinking maybe I could fit into a size 10 now. I was nervous and going back and forth on whether or not I should try some. So I decided to do it, and a couple of them fit! Wow! I didn’t end up buying any though because I had a couple 12s that I liked better. And I had a little too much muffin top in the 10s. I have some muffin top in any jeans I wear, but a bit too much in the 10s. I wouldn’t be comfortable wearing these yet and there’s no reason to spend the money if I’m not going to wear them!

But thats definitely encouragement when I need it! Going into the holidays, the goal of really fitting into size 10 will help me keep my diet on track. Already in the last few days Doug and I have been tempted to go out to eat or to buy get some Ben & Jerry’s. We’ve eaten at home and we bought the healthier version of ice cream. When I went to Starbucks the other day, I got a skinny drink. I don’t need to use the holidays as my excuse to eat everything in sight. I want to fit into those 10s!

In other news, I went to the chiropractor yesterday and had some electrical stimulation therapy on my ankle. Today my ankle feels like its improved after being pretty much the same for a few days! It still hurts, but any improvement is encouraging to me! I did make an appointment for physical therapy, but its not for a week and a half. I’m on the cancellation list and hoping to get in sooner. But I’m also going to the chiropractor twice next week for therapy too. Here’s hoping I’m getting a bit closer to running again! I have the Berbee Derby to run, or at least walk on Thanksgiving Day.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Encouragement, right when I need it

  1. This time of year is definitely a nutrition minefield! I can always find an excuse to eat "this one thing just this once". Sounds like you have a good plan. Glad to hear your ankle is doing better.

Leave a Reply

