Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Post-holidays

Leave a comment

I was so focused during the holidays on being careful what I ate. I was so proud to make it through the holidays having maintained my weight. For various reasons, I’ve never really kept track of whether I maintained during the holidays or gained. So I suppose I don’t have anything to compare it to, but I was proud of myself nonetheless for coming through the holidays still weighing in my 174 to 176 range.

Unfortunately I’ve lost that focus in the month since the holidays. My range has gone up 5 pounds so that for the last few weeks I’ve been between 179 and 181. Its not much, but I can tell a difference in how I look and how some of my clothes fit. I think I just lost my focus a bit… and I really like the Ben & Jerry’s. I’m upset but I haven’t been able to do anything about it yet. Sometimes it just takes me awhile to make up my mind and fix it.

Its the usual culprits… too much Ben & Jerry’s, too much going out to eat, too much mindless snacking and too many trips to Starbucks. I also haven’t gotten back to exercising 5 or 6 days a week yet. I’ve been doing 3, through I did 4 last week. I know with this combination that gaining weight has been inevitable, but I also know I can fix it.

We haven’t had Ben & Jerry’s in about a week and a half. Various factors have kept us going out to eat, though I have been making more of an effort to vary our meals and actually cook. Our going out lately has been for special occasions like celebrating Doug’s birthday last night instead of going to Taco Bell because I don’t feel like cooking. The last time we did that was also a week and a half ago.

I haven’t been to Starbucks in a week and a half. The mindless snacking though is still ongoing. I can go a few days being good and then one day screws it all up. I actually did see a 176 on the scale last week, but this week I’m still hanging out at 180.

Once we get one more document needed to file our taxes, priority #1 with the refund is to rejoin Weight Watchers. Admittedly I really haven’t been terribly committed to keeping my diet in check since canceling last July. Hopefully this time I’ll keep it up and lose the 5 pounds I’ve gained in January and then some.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

