Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Kicking it into high gear

1 Comment

Name Home Race Bib # Registered
Durso, Jessica (F31) Madison, WI Half Marathon 2/3/12

Above is my confirmation that I am registered for the Cellcom Green Bay Half Marathon! Its on May 20. I’m a little nervous because I’ve never registered for a race so far ahead of time before. But I’ve wanted to run Green Bay since I started running and the race sells out. It finally worked out this year that we could travel for a race so I’m in! I am a little bummed though because construction in Lambeau Field means that the race won’t end with running through the player tunnel and around the field. Thats the draw of the race. But its supposed to be a really good race besides that and we’ll still end by Lambeau Field.

Now for training and planning. We’re looking into the hotels and planning what we want to do, how long we want to stay. I’d like to go up on Friday night because there’s a kids race on Saturday that I think Allie would love. But we’ll just have to see how it works out. We’re going to book a hotel in about a month hopefully.

As far as training goes, I’m actually in a better spot, mileage-wise, than I was when I started training last year. With shin splints last year I had a hard time getting started. This morning I ran 5 miles outside! Last year I didn’t get 5 miles until mid-February and my training didn’t really get going until March. But I’m feeling like my training really is started already. Hopefully the weather will stay decent so I can get outside more. This year I’m feeling good and confident that I’ll finally be able to run the 10K of the Shamrock Shuffle!

I don’t know if I want to find a training plan or just kinda go how I want. I have goals in mind. What I need to accomplish is getting my long run up to at least 10 miles. I’d rather it be 12, but for a spring half I think 10 will be fine. And maybe I can get to 12. In fact, I hopefully will by running the Lake Monona 20K. That race is the first weekend in May, two weeks before Green Bay, so perfect timing really.

So fundamentally, I only have to lengthen my long run by 5 miles in three months. Easy.

With my hip troubles I was a little nervous too, but it seems like thats changed for the better too. Of course, I haven’t really tried to do anything since I finished today’s run, so I don’t know if I’m having any pain or not. I’m going to believe I’m not!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Kicking it into high gear

  1. You can run awesomely in celebration of my birthday!

Leave a Reply

