Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Hoping for a healthier March

Leave a comment

I’ve been sick for the last week. I haven’t exercised for the last week. And while I’m getting better, I’m not well enough to exercise again for another couple days at least!

I’m getting over a chest cold with asthma complications, though I’m starting to think it may be a touch brochaitis and also sinus infection. I went to the doctor on Sunday and got a prescription for prednizone because my inhaler wasn’t helping and I was using it way too much. On Sunday the doctor said I most likely had a virus, but she gave me an antibiotics prescription to fill today if I thought I still needed it. I appreciated that because I didn’t have to go back to the doctor today! While I’m getting better, my chest hurts too much for having taken prednizone the last four days.

Its been a sick month for the Dursos. It started right around the Super Bowl. And Doug, Allie and I have been passing it around since. We had a week and a half span where at least one of us was home from work, mostly because Allie was sick all last week.

So as February ends, I did increase my mileage over January, but only by 4.5! January saw 34.5 miles and February 36. Where I had to take a week off at the end of January for my hip issue, I had to take a week off at the end of February for being sick! And the worst part is I got new shoes a week ago and still haven’t gotten to try them out!

I think last year started like this too. It seems to be a yearly event to get sick in February. So far in the first two months of the year I’ve run well, but with all this time off I barely feel like I’ve gotten started.

I have gotten started though. While I don’t know if I will run at all this week, I know I can easily run 6 miles again and run the Shamrock Shuffle 10K, which I’ve never done before.

My total for the year is up to 73.5 miles. Considering my goal for the year is 900 miles, I’ve got a lot of ground to make up for. I’m not worried about it though. I know I will run more in the summer. I just hope I can run in the next week!

The one good thing I’ve noticed with this lack of exercise is that I eat less when I’m not working out. I noticed this first when I stopped running after I sprained my ankle. With the exception of my eating of January, I curb my appetite when I’m sedentary. Thus even though I’ve been still more, I’ve still been losing weight! Since starting Weight Watchers on Feb. 8, I’ve lost 4.8 pounds. Now back at my usual 175, I look forward to achieving my 5% goal in the next two weeks. Only 4.2 pounds to go!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

