Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Slow and steady

Leave a comment

Slowly but surely, my fitness is coming back. I ran 3 miles today. With how hungry and sleepy I’ve been today, you’d think I ran 12 miles! But I’m happy with my progress. It will take me a bit longer to get back to where I was, but I still have enough time.

I was sad today though that I wasn’t running the Shamrock Shuffle. This was going to be there year I could finally run the 10K for that race! Instead I didn’t run it at all. But I made a good decision in not running it. I could have probably finished 5K, but it wouldn’t have been my best effort. It was decently warm, almost hot already by the time the race started. I was running around that time and I struggled with the temperature almost as much as I was struggling because of my fitness.

But the overall result of my run was good! I’ve made it a little further before it got hard each time I ran this week. Today was the same. But I decided even if I only ran a couple steps past the 2-mile mark, I was going to pass 2 miles. And I did! What was really awesome was as I passed the 2.5-mile mark, I started getting really comfortable. It physically felt like I broke through the wall. I probably could have gone over 3 miles, but I’m taking it slow.

So I logged 9 miles in four runs this week. My plan for next week is 11 in four runs, 2,2,3, and 4. The 4 will be my “long” run. Then the following week I’ll run 6 for my long run. After that I should be able to add a mile a week to my long run, taking me up to 11 miles two weeks before the half marathon. I’m not sure if that training schedule will work out for me to run the Lake Monona 20K on May 5. I’ll just have to see where I am.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

