Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Mama’s work is never done, but I like it that way (most of the time)

Leave a comment

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We had a great family day on Mother’s Day. Allie and Dada gave Mama some great presents and then we went out for a nice brunch. I’ve really wanted to plant flowers for a few weeks now. I planted some last year and wanted to expand my efforts this year.

So after brunch we went out to the Garden Center at Farm & Fleet and bought a couple bags of potting soil, two new planters and plants to fill them. Allie and I started as soon as we got home. Allie painted a flower pot for me at daycare, and I let her pick which one would go in that pot. She picked a yellow viola and helped me plant it. Then she helped me with the first planter before she went down for nap.

I’m so happy with the results! I used the knowledge I gained last year in almost killing my plants to hopefully prevent that fate this year. I didn’t cram too many in one container and I didn’t plant them too deep in the soil (I hope). So far they’re doing fine!

Allie really loves the flowers. Every day she wants to see them. She likes to go out and smell them.

After I finished my planting on Sunday, Allie was still asleep. So Mama took a nap too! We woke her up at 5:30 because we didn’t want her to stay up too late that night. We went on a nice family walk (where I had to carry Allie most of the way back) and then had dinner. We were sitting and playing quietly in the living room when we heard a rumbling from Allie.

Allie was sick on Saturday but better on Sunday, sort of. She woke up with a blowout, the likes of which we haven’t seen since she was really little. We had to towel her off before getting her in the bath. Well, when we were playing in the living room after dinner, I was just about to take her upstairs, when I heard it. We could tell something was going on in her tummy so I let her finish. She was finished all right, except when she knelt down to pick something up, the results of this blowout came out the pullup and all over her and the carpet. This was even worse than the morning. Two baths in one day!

So with those incidents I did lots of laundry and was reminded that Mama’s work is never done, even on Mother’s Day. But I do like it that way, most of the time. I could just do without the blowouts!!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

