Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Dessert or breakfast?

Leave a comment

The brats were eaten and the run done. I had nothing left to accomplish on my Memorial Day Monday than relax. But I decided to bake.

I like baking. Unfortunately my time and my diet do not let me bake too often. It had been awhile so I decided to finish my holiday with some oatmeal chocolate chip cookie muffins that I’d bookmarked off foodgawker awhile ago. With the basic ingredients I didn’t need to make a trip to the store to whip up these treats. Are they breakfast or are they dessert? They’re both!

I’m not a food photograper, so you can look at the pictures with the recipe. These are sweet. I can definitely taste the cookie. The oatmeal taste is not strong, but its there. The muffins came together well and as usually is the case when I make muffins, I was able to yield more than the recipe said I would. The recipe says it makes 12 muffins, I got 15. They were differing in size though, I probably could have gotten 18 if I’d portioned better.

When the muffins were warm they broke up and the bottom stayed in the muffin cup when removed. It was because of the chocolate chips. After they cooled they stayed together better, but I think it depends on how many chips were in it.

Its totally worth plucking every chip off the paper though. These muffins aren’t great on the points plus values, which I’ve restarted tracking today (topic for another post). I calculated 5 points per muffin, so I’m glad I didn’t cram all the batter into 12 muffins.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

