Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Cola ham!

Leave a comment

This ham is SO good. To give some indication of how good it is, Allie ate a bunch, and she doesn’t eat much meat.

I found the recipe in my Nook crock pot cook book and I just have to post the recipe here. I didn’t take any pictures because its just ham, not terribly photogenic. Plus we were in a hurry to eat it.

Cola Ham

1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp dry mustard
1/4 cup cola
3- to 4- pound pre-cooked ham

Combine brown sugar and dry mustard. Moisten with cola to make a smooth paste. Reserve remaining cola. Score the ham with shallow slashes in a diamond pattern. Rub ham with mixture. Place ham in slow cooker and add remaining cola. Cover and cook on high for 1 hour, then turn to low and cook for 6 to 7 hours.

*From “Ultimate Crockpot Cookbook: 750 Slow Cooker Recipes,” by Althea Champlain*

WOW. I can’t say that enough. And the leftovers are going to last awhile. Four pounds is a lot of ham for a family of three!

It doesn’t take much cola to make the paste, and I knew it wouldn’t. I only put a little in and it was too much. The paste rubs into the ham and I think it probably would have rubbed in more if it hadn’t been quite so moist. I’m not sure if you’re supposed to actually pour the remaining cola over the ham or just around it. It seemed to be washing away the paste (maybe because it was too runny) so I just poured it around the ham. Also, the ham I got had some kind of applewood smoke or something. I don’t think that affected the taste. We usually drink diet pop here, but I bought a 20 oz. regular Coke.

I cooked the ham for 9 hours on low so it wouldn’t be on the warm setting too long before we got home. My crock pot has a timer and I absolutely love that. Most recipes I can cook an hour or two longer without it affecting the meal. We cut the ham with just a regular kitchen knife, but really should have gotten out the electric knife. We’ll remember that for next time.

The taste is almost like sweet and sour with the brown sugar and dry mustard. I made instant potatoes even though we have real potatoes because we were really hungry. I also made green beans. We loved this meal so much that we had the exact same thing tonight, but with corn instead of green beans. And Allie scarfed it all down again! Allie’s never been terribly wild about meat, I think in part because of the texture. But meat cooked all day in the crock pot is really tender. So we’re going to try and do more meats in the crock pot.

I love my crock pot cookbook, which I got on my Nook for only 99 cents! Quite a value considering it has 750 recipes! I doubt I’ll ever make them all.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

