Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Freedom Run 5K

Leave a comment

Happy Fourth of July everyone! Its strange having a holiday in the middle of the week!

I’ve run the Freedom Run 10K in DeForest on July 4 twice before, in 2008 and 2011. This year since its been so hot I decided to just run the 5K. I was also hoping to get that 5K PR that I came so close to a few weeks ago. But it was too hot.

We left a bit later than we wanted, and I was nervous about missing it. But its a small race and Doug was able to drop me off to pick up my race bib and get Allie into the stroller and me to the start in 10 minutes. It didn’t seem too terribly hot at first. But it was already 80 degrees and I felt the heat soon after the start.

I wouldn’t normally take my own water belt for a 5K, but I did today. I set my Garmin to a time goal of 31:23, a 10:06 pace, which would have been my PR. I hit the first mile in 10:04. But I decided to stop at the water station soon after mile 1 because it was hot and uphill. I picked it up well though after that walk and got to mile 2 in 10:15, so a little over my goal pace, but still doable. But in mile 3 the heat was just getting to me and I had to stop two or three times. My mile 3 split was 11:06. It took just under a minute for the last .1, and I came in with Garmin time of 32:20 and clock time of 32:30.

Summer isn’t the time to expect PRs, especially in this crazy heat wave. I’m happy with my result today, though a little disappointed that I’ll probably have to wait until the fall to get that darn PR!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

