Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Bye bye first tri!

Leave a comment

When I was pregnant with Allie, I was ecstatic to say good bye to the first trimester. That is definitely the case this time around!

I’m not quite as well informed as I was last time. I don’t remember if the first trimester is actually done at the beginning or end of the 13th week. But as today is 13 weeks and 4 days, I’ve decided I can officially bid adieu to the first trimester.

Luckily, the morning sickness and car sickness went away about a week and a half ago. Now I’m not quite as hungry as I was before. So I have to be careful about taking too much food to work and/or not eat it all when I’m not hungry. I’m feeling good. I haven’t been too fatigued.

We found out right away at the first trimester screening that the ultrasound measurements were good. I got a note from my doctor today with word that the bloodwork portion of the screening came back normal. This means I’m low risk to have a baby with Down’s Syndrome. It doesn’t guarantee, but it is reassuring. I wasn’t worried about the screening, but it is nice to have the confirmation on that.

On my big focus topic, the weigth gain so far is better than it was with Allie. Depending on which starting weight I use (my lowest weight on our home scale or the first weight I got at the doctor), I’ve gained 3 or 8 pounds. Yesterday morning that number was 3, by the afternoon when I got to my appointment it was 6. I’m choosing to disregard that for now! Any way I look at it, its better than the 14 pounds I gained in the first trimester last time!

Maybe more encouraging than the weight is that most of my smallest clothes still fit… the jeans at least. I’ve had to retire a couple of my smallest pairs and bring in a few size 14s, but other 12s I have are still falling off! I’m pretty sure I was wearing at least size 14 all the time at this time with Allie. Its making me wonder a little bit if my maternity clothes are going to fit. But in my mind, this is a good problem to have.

I’ve had to retire a few shirts and introduce some more maternity-ish shirts. I don’t have the baby belly yet, but my insides are definitely being pushed out. I knew going into this that I’d start showing sooner. It upsets me sometimes, but its really OK. But I really do want to get the belly soon!

As I’ve been writing lately, I’m running well and hoping to register for the Haunted Hustle before prices increase at the end of the week. This morning’s run was tough and I think I may have to skip a run this week, but I’m OK with that.

Now I head into the second trimester. I’m waiting for the belly and feeling the baby move. I’ve had feelings occasionally that make me think it could be the baby, but I doubt it. Second time moms usually feel movement sooner, I think I’ve read that I might feel real movements by week 15. I can’t wait!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

