Life as we know it

Our family adventures

OK, I can do this

Leave a comment

Shortening my run intervals was a good idea. Instead of running 12 minutes, today I ran 9 minutes and still walked 3. It works out to only 3 more walking minutes in an hour and I ended up with the same average pace I’ve had lately.

Today was my first run wearing my new maternity belt! I had to adjust it a bit after I started running. I thought I had positioned it low, but not quite low enough. I felt a little round ligament pain at the beginning, but that might have been because of the initial position. But it went away. The best part is the belt took the pressure off my bladder! I ran 8 miles without a bathroom break!

I still had pain in the run. I could tell my pelvis was still a bit off by the end. It still wasn’t the greatest run ever. But it was much improved and I’ve recovered well. I’ll take that! I’m no longer nervous. I can do this!

I just hope next Saturday isn’t as miserable as today was! It wasn’t quite as bad as when I did my 12-miler two weeks ago, but it was close. The temp was 46, but with the wind if felt a lot colder. I went outside to get started and went right back inside to grab my gloves and wore them the whole time. I felt like the whole run was really slow, but it really wasn’t compared to how I’ve been running lately. I think it just seemed that way because of the change in intervals and because its been awhile since I last ran 8 miles.

Of course a lot could change at any time. But all indications are that I’ll continue running after the half marathon. I may move to the treadmill. I still think I’ll cut back to three days and I seriously doubt I’ll run anything long. But I’ll continue running. I’m so grateful that I’ve been able to run this far into pregnancy and that I’m really running a half marathon at 20 weeks!

 

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

